top of page

A Chance In The World by Steve Pemberton

Updated: Apr 26



  • A Chance in the World

  • An Orphan Boy, a Mysterious Past, and How He Found a Place Called Home

  • By: Steve Pemberton

  • Narrated by: Steve Pemberton

  • Length: 8 hrs and 5 mins

  • Rate 5/5


This book is a memoir based on the childhood life of Steve Pemberton. He was living in a foster home with people who were badly abusive towards him. They made him sleep in the basement and the only thing he had to look forward to was school and his books.


His foster mother pissed me off so much that I wish that I had met him and could have adopted him. I also wish that his foster mother received the same treatment that she gave to poor Steve, but with the way the law works nothing happens unless the child is dead. They did end up taking him away from the foster home just in time. I believe that if he had stayed in that house any longer he wouldn't be alive today to tell his story.


Steve's story hurt my heart in the beginning how he was treated and beaten. He didn't get to eat properly. He got sent to the hospital by his foster mom who lied and told him that if he told that something much worse was going to happen. She promised him that he would get to speak to his birth mother and the entire time she... well I won't spoil it for you. All I know is that I strongly dislike his foster mother.


In the end Steve found his place in the world and was saved. He had some great people in his corner and I am proud to say he is now a father and husband today, so his story has given many hope.


I recommend this book if you want to read about a story of triumph.


Here is the movie if you want to watch it:


14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page