top of page

The Shining by Stephen King

Updated: Apr 26


The Shining is a 1977 horror novel by American author Stephen King. It is King's third published novel and first hardcover bestseller; its success firmly established King as a preeminent author in the horror genre.

My Rate 5/5

Narrated By: Campbell Scott

15Hours and 50mins


I love the character Danny in the book. He is 5 years old and yet very intelligent. I was more impressed with the storyline that he possess "the shine" which is when you have a special ability like you can read thoughts or can go into others dreams.

The character Jack was very scary the way the narrator, Campbell voiced him. I was frightened though my headphones listening to this audiobook. Jacks character was by far a jerk even before he went crazy, he still gave me bad vibes. When he abused his son while drinking was what made me not like him from the beginning.

Wendy was a likeable character in the book, she was strong and didn't take no s*** from Jack unlike in the movie she was weaker minded and wimpy. I like her best in the book. Richard Hallorann who was the head chef of the overlook hotel and possessed the shine like little Danny survived the attack by Jack from what I read, but in the movie he died. I'm pretty sure I read that he survived, because he was talking to Wendy and Danny about future plans and things. Also, Richard thought Wendy had a little of shine herself.


I love the way the hotel hosted ghost in there who had stories of their own like one family that was there before them was murdered and that a woman who was cheated on her husband died in the hotel room.


King's writing style is very suspenseful and will have you at the edge of your seat every chapter. I love this writing style because it makes me feel like I am in the book.

The narrator, Campbell, brought Jack to life because I was terrified of Jack. The anger in his voice was top notch. He voiced the other characters well too, but Jack was the one that got me the most. What I dislike about King's writing is that he uses the word N***** a bit too much on a few of his books I'm noticing and freely at that.


Overall, this book was amazing and I would read it again. King is a genius, and his writing is worth listening to.



18 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page